Reef Shawl

Work has been steadily progressing on the Poppy Shawl by Brooke Nico.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

If you decide to knit this pattern, look for the errata.  I found a mistake in the first row of Chart 3 and in the repeat width (it is 8 not the 9 std boxed out). When I emailed Brooke to ask if I was correct, she concurred and issued a correction on Ravelry.  It is a lot of knitting of the same pattern repeat, which is fairly straight forward albeit a bit boring at times.  I am very intrigued with the shape which is 3 triangles separated by 2 narrow rectangles (those are the sections with the nupps).  It should sit nicely on my shoulders and have lots of fabric to wrap.  One thing that I would like to change is the ending, rather than just casting off.  I have plenty of time to mull that over, still not finished with the first skein of yarn, my spinning was wound in 2 sections.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The colors are so gorgeous on this fiber, that I had to go back and see what the inspiration photo had been.

3265866120_b33f7c32b9_z

Which generated this colorway:

IMG_1841