Yarn Con 2014

This morning I went to YarnCon, held in the Journeymen’s Plumber’s Hall in Chicago, a nice space indeed.  There were more vendors than last year, lots to choose from.  Last year I went with Lynette on Sunday and we were one of the first 50 people, so got a great goody bag.  This year I arrived 10 minutes before the door opened, and there were over a 100 people already in line.  A couple of friends got there early and received the goody bag (to the first 50 people only), but it was not as impressive as last years.

There was knitting performance art, not really sure that I “got” it, Mimi shared it on Instagram, as she felt the world needed to see this.  My photos are not the best, as they were done with my phone.

20140405_110302

20140405_110254

20140405_110257

I met Martha at the event, new to Chicago, she has been following my blog!  It was fun to meet her and introduce her to some of my knitting and spinning friends.  My first “selfie”, don’t seem to ever like photos of myself.  I had a photo of her great boot toppers, but it did not turn out well.  Great to meet you Martha!

20140405_124518

I went with the intention of buying enough fingering weight yarn for a very large project, and was able to restrain myself as I found nothing that was perfect.  I need 2,600 yards, so it needs to be the right choice.  My amazing restraint involved only getting 2 small bags for my knitting bag (from the same vendor I got my beautiful bag last year!),

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
And, some sock yarn for Dan.  This is from Anne Hanson’s new line, all American sourced, Bare Naked Wools.  The natural colors were so beautiful, this one is called Breakfast Blend.  It is wool, nylon and alpaca.  He loved the yarn, and I can’t wait to try it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

There is still time to check out the vendors and amazing selections tomorrow, don’t let my restraint stop you from attending, there is some really beautiful yarn to score!