Shawls to Excess?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Can one person own too many shawls?  Especially when they are handspun and hand knit with a beautiful Fiber Optic gradient.  I do believe I am testing this hypothesis firsthand.  My Reef Shawl is finished and off the blocking boards, fiber was spun using the Reef gradient that happened to be the first Fiber Optic gradient one that I purchased.

I know that this post will generate lots of offers to take these shawls off my hands.  Not happening people, too much time involved.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I was reluctant to spin this for 2 reasons, at first I thought the colors to bright for me, and second, I didn’t want to ruin the fiber.  It seems I should have had no worries. The colors are gorgeous, and the fiber is wonderful.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I chose the pattern, Poppy Shawl from Brooke Nico’s new book Lovely Knitted Lace, as I wanted to maximize the use of the yarn, and I often find that triangular shawls do not sit well on my shoulders.  The unique shape of this shawl is intriguing, 3 triangles separated by a thin rectangle that sits on the shoulders.  Sort of a simplified Faroese styling.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The shawl rests naturally on the shoulders.  Love the Nupps in the long, thin rectangular panels.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Using this mannequin helps me to see what the shawl looks like on the backside while being worn.  I changed the bottom edging, the pattern called for simply finishing a repeat and binding off.  Preferring a more detailed bottom edge, and wanting to maximize the use of all my yarn, I improvised a variation of the pattern for the end of the shawl, and bound off with the stretchy bind-off.

I will wear it today, although it will have to be as a shawl scarf, as it is rather cool outside.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pattern: Poppy
Pattern Source: Lovely Knitted Lace
Yarn: Handspun gradient Reef from Fiber Optic
Needles: US 5
Date Started: 3/28/14
Date Finished: 4/27/14
Finished Dimensions: 48″ wide x 20″ deep from back neck