The Jury is Still Out

Remember how excited I was to knit up this shawl from the cover of Lovely Knitted Lace?  Well, it is finished, actually finished for a couple of weeks now.  Last week I was busy with summer Architecture camp for teens, and this week I am reeling from a really bad summer cold.  So bad in fact, that I did not even feel like knitting or spinning most of the time, and I have been home alone.   It was quite miserable.

Well, here is the shawl pre blocking:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And I was waiting to have a model to take photos of it, but then realized that I could model it and just use the self timer on my camera.  First, the shawl without the buttons closed, you can see how there is no shape to this, it really has to always be worn fully buttoned up.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And the completed shawl.  I was not looking great today, a weeks worth of head colds took its toll, so I artfully cropped my head out!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA


OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Wondering if maybe my torso is not long enough to carry this off.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I disagree with her directions for sewing the shawl up.  I would find the point for each of the arms to have the petal end right at the top of the wrist (5th one in from each front edge), and then sew the bottoms between to the required measurements so that it fits properly on your hips.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Pattern: Camellia Dolman
Pattern Source: Lovely Knitted Lace
Yarn: Helen’s Lace
Needles: US 3 & 5
Date Started: 3/28/14
Date Finished: 4/16/14
Finished Dimensions: Women’s large