Purple is her Favorite Color

She loves purple.  And she loves to watch me “yarn”, as she calls my knitting.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

While looking for yarn in my stash that had her favorite color purple, I ended up using some Koigu sock yarn that I had.  And I rediscovered how much I love this yarn, I have pulled out some for future socks.  And the colors are really gorgeous.  This had the added benefit of having pink in it, a close second in color favorites.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This was my first time knitting socks for a child.  Knitting socks and booties for babies is relatively easy, as they will all eventually grow into them, but trying to navigate the American shoe and sock sizes was indeed a challenge.

First I had to figure out her shoe size.  For you non-Americans, this will not make any sense to you, but there are baby shoe sizes, walker shoe sizes, and toddler shoe sizes, which go from size  0-12.  Next we enter Little kid shoe sizes which start at 12 1/2, 13, 13 1/2 then they start renumbering at 1 up to 3.  Following this are big kid shoe sizes, 3 1/2 – 7.  Next women’s sizes.  Times like this I wish for the simplicity of the metric system.

After finding these charts, and verifying her shoe size with my sister I then had to go to the Craft Yarn Council foot size chart to figure out what size sock that would translate to.  And yes, it would make too much sense for the sock size to match shoe sizes, for children they are 4-5, 5-6 1/2, 6-7 1/2, 7-8 1/2, and 8-9 1/2!  Those mostly correlate to the length in inches of the sock.

So, finally, I figured out her shoe size 12 shoe, her sock size size 7-8 1/2 sock, total length of sock 7 1/2″.  That in itself was a lot of work!

I hope they fit.

 

Pattern: Girl’s Anklet Sock
Pattern Source: Socks Too, by Vogue Knitting
Yarn: Koigu sock yarn
Needles: US 2
Date Started: 6/29/14
Date Finished: 7/1/14
Finished Dimensions: 7 1/2″ long, child’s size 7-8 1/2 sock

 

Oh, and she asked for a hat too!  That will wait for cooler weather.