Rabbit fur

rabbit2sm

When we were out East last month, we spent time in Vermont seeing the sites, which of course had to include at least one fiber related visit.  That was a visit to Fiber Kingdom.  And of course purchases were mandatory.

First 2 oz of Angora.  I have not spun angora by itself, so this will be interesting.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then, 2 skeins of sock yarn, 50% angora, 30% wool, 20% nylon.  That beautiful natural color.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lastly, she had these machine knit socks, from the same yarn that I purchased above.  The machine knits much denser than I, although I will include some great patterning.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It surprised me as to the cost.  $20 for angora fiber, 2 oz; $45 for 2 skeins of sock yarn, 4 oz; and lastly the knitted up socks $25.  How is this pricing working in reverse?

She had a really cool workshop in an old barn.  If I lived nearby, I know that I would be spending lots of time there–knitting, spinning and weaving.

shop-2