The Colors of Ria


Blog Photos119

I was spinning this beautiful yarn, on my portable wheel, so it went slow as I mostly spun every other Sunday at our spinning group.  The fiber is from Western Sky Knits, and I got it from someone’s destash on Ravelry.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

While I was working on it, I was unsure of what it should become.  Then, looking at my beautiful niece Ria, and the bright colors that she wears, I knew that it had to be for her.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The next question was what to make, and I wanted to work on it during our vacation.  Of course, I waited until the day before leaving to try to figure something out, I finally decided upon the Totem Jacket by Elizabeth Zimmerman.  The garter stitch works so well with a variegated yarn, and between the softness of this yarn and the squishy garter stitch, this is a joy to touch.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

And, even though this is not my most uniform spinning, it knits up very nicely with the garter stitch.

 

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Now I am spinning some lovely soft pink for iCord edging. There was enough of the variegated, but I felt that might be too much, and some of the repeats are longer.  This way there will be enough yarn to make a hat to match!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA