Sheep & Wool

Yesterday, I went with 3 friends up to the Wisconsin Sheep & Wool Festival.  The past few years, Dan and I have made a weekend retreat out of this, but opted to save that for a different wool festival to be determined.  Still wanting to get up there, I talked 3 friends into going, and 3 of us took a class.  It was a lot of fun, 2 1/2 hours each way though is pushing it a bit.

The first part of the festival I spent watching fleece judging.  This was very helpful to me, as I know little to nothing about how to choose a correct fleece.  I think that I may watch this again next year, and then bid on one of the winning fleeces.  In the first photo, the judge is pinging the locks to see how strong they are.  He was very good at explaining how and why he was rating the fleece.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There were sheep shows, which I only caught a bit of…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And the Hall of Breeds

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lastly, the cutest baby lambs.  This one was born that morning.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I also took a class, and of course shopped, which I will talk about later.