Let’s try this again

PA270182

PA270187

PA180030

 

This beautiful handspun 3 ply, spun from Woolgatherings fiber, was first attempted to make the Totem jacket, like I am knitting for my beautiful niece Ria.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Not long into the project, I realized that my gauge was way off, and most importantly, I would not have enough yarn to make the sweater.  Yet, I loved the way this knit up with the garter stitch, and so posed the question of a good top down garter stitch pattern that I could use.  My friend Jane suggested the February Lady Sweater.  It is knitting up nicely, and I recently took it off the needles to test for size, easy since this is a top-down sweater, and opted to add some more increases and then the straight rounds.  When I get to the lace bottom part, I will use the semi-solid shown above, with the garter strip banding continuing in the variegated.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA