Inspiration

My mild foray into dyeing yesterday inspired me to look at what I had in my own back yard.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This was not the year for tomatoes.  But kale, green beans, swiss chard, and our Heritage Marigolds all did splendidly.  My husband is a sucker for a plant that says heritage, and planted these marigolds to help with keeping the bad bugs at bay.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Normally, they would be the small version, these top out at about 4′ tall! Beautiful, but they are shading my tomatoes and peppers.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We have had such great pollinators visiting first the native plant gardens, and now the marigolds.  The Monarch butterflies have loved the marigolds also.  Notice the pollinator on the left side in the next photo.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So, when you have lots of lemons, make lemonade.  When you have lots of marigolds, cut the flowers for a future dyeing experiment.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I have some others drying in the sun right now.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Taking advantage of the now open space in the back planters for this experiment.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I will continue to collect them for the rest of the Fall, dry them, and save them in a paper bag for a winter dyeing project.  Hopefully with a little help from Maggie!