Two Nancies

After a weekend at Vogue Knitting Live, our local yarn shop Knit Nirvana hosted Nancy Bush and Nancy Marchant on Monday evening for show and tell, wine and book signing.  Nancy and Nancy both showed examples from their books in a mini fashion show.  I forgot to take my camera, so consequently these photos are with my cell phone, I took more of people’s feet than anything else!

Nancy Bush is the Estonian expert; lace, socks and history.  She is a great teacher I have taken classes from her in the past.  Some of these models I have seen prior, but always so worth seeing again.  These are mostly from her book Knitted Lace of Estonia:

20141027_191735

20141027_192857

20141027_192741

Nancy Marchant is the Brioche lady.  I was not familiar with her, or her books, but as I was leaving, the thought came to me that I had knit a Brioche hat, and sure enough it was a Nancy Marchant pattern from the Vogue Hats book. ultimate-hat-book

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Brioche is essentially Fisherman’s rib, but with a pattern attached.  Consequently it is very soft and squishy, warm but light weight, and most importantly reversible.  This was made with 2 very different handspun yarns.  I like the purple side facing the best.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here is Nancy showing one of her lovely scarves.  Apologies again for the very poor photo.

20141027_193243

She has her first book,  Knitting Brioche that was previously published,

knitting brioche book-2

and a new hot off the presses one that was at the store.  I gave the copy I had in hand to someone else, always other opportunities.

61-lDxIJwGL

 

Nancy M also has a Brioche scarf in the upcoming Holiday issue of Vogue.  Applying Brioche to lace knitting.

VKH14_merchantD

A couple of her scarves were with gradients, which got me to thinking….