When Stash is not Enough

A while back I showed my stash of Dale of Norway Baby Ull yarn that I was choosing from for my newest project.  I narrowed the colors down to these:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There were a few fits and starts as I tried to get the colors just right.  I chose a lovely pink gingham check border, then went on to work on the ducks.   That is when I realized that my green, which was supposed to evoke the feeling of grass, but instead was a beautiful bright Kelly Green, was all wrong.  So, ripped back and waited for the replacement green to arrive.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here is the project reknit with the more appropriate color of green (old green next to it for comparison), I neglected to take a photo of the bright green knit up.  Just trust me, it was wrong, even my husband said order some different yarn.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And, while I was at it, I just needed to order a few more of the gorgeous new colors that DoN has out.  There is always a constant rejiggering of colors, so need to keep my stash relevant.  Love the light and dark eggplant.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Not a fan of the new Baby Ull yarn ball bands, the eyes look creepy to me.

And of course, since I was ordering from my favorite DoN provider, Kids Knits, I needed to get a few pattern books also.

Always, always a fan of the Olympic sweaters.  I have made a couple and love to have the books on hand as they tend to become unavailable after a while.  This one has 16 different sweater designs from 1956-2010, the last being Vancouver.  I knit the Vancouver one several years ago during the winter Olympics for the Ravelympics.  Glad that I have this book in my collection, and would highly recommend it.

book280feature

At the same time, there were a couple of Baby books that I had not seen.  Ordered both of these, and my enthusiasm is not quite the same.  They are missing the great classic Fair Isle patterns that DoN is famous for.  The books do contain some good basic sweater patterns and a couple of cute vests for little boys.  If only there was a store in the area that carried this yarn and the pattern books, then I would be able to better discern which ones I wanted to purchase.

book298feature book303feature