Color for my Feet

This past weekend we took a city retreat for my husband’s birthday. Very luxurious, and let us ignore the long cold winter for a bit.  Of course, I needed to take along knitting, and it needed to be a small, portable easy to work on project.  Socks it was.  I chose this yarn, that I believe I purchased from someone’s destash, but i can’t really remember where or when.

banshee-sport-600_medium

This is so incredibly beautiful, I was saving it for the right time/person.  Unfortunately, this person stopped dyeing yarn a couple of years ago.  When I was winding it up I fell even more in love with the colors.  The dyer was Family Pendragon.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There was a last-minute urgent work item that I was tending to, and remembered everything but the waste yarn to do the tubular cast on.  I tried it using the same yarn to no avail, and then tried just a regular cast on.  The yarn screamed at me that it needed to be done perfectly, so I just played around with it, and when I got back home cast on with the waste yarn for the tubular cast on.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And I am so glad that I did.  At the moment I am doing a twisted 1×1 ribbing for the cuff, not sure where I will go after that.  I was thinking that the Monkey Socks by CookieA might be worth another go with this yarn.  In the meantime, I am really glad that I started over.  These will be so fun and bright.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA