My new Hobby requires a few things…

Taking on a new hobby is not without some equipment and supplies.  I found these at Architectural Artifacts (led there by Kim and Jane), and got a great deal on the cones for warping my loom.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Luckily they fit nicely in my yarn closet, at the front of the baskets holding yarn and projects.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For my second project I tried direct warping, and although I had to do it twice, it seems to have worked really well. I did not have a clamp to hook to, so brought one of my dining room chairs down.  Essentially you have a large cone of yarn sitting under the wheel and keep wrapping it over or under the back bar and then to “peg” that you have set the distance away to get the length that you want.  Because you are not tying down individual strings, except when you want to change colors, it seems to go much better.  My new weaving hook helps a lot too, tried the first time with a crochet hook, and that was really cumbersome.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is the video that shows how to do it, much better than I could describe.

And here is my 2nd project, over 1/2 way done.  Not sure what it will look like…  It is quick and fun though, and I have found a good location in the basement that was an unused area, and I can watch TV while working on this.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA