Color 

Color_wheel

This recent article on the origins of the color purple got me to thinking about colors, and how they are precieved.

royal_institution_friday_evening_discourse_april_11th_1862_pages_16_-_small

I have always been fascinated with color, how some people see or don’t see it, why it is important to some and not others, and how it affects people.  Since I was a child I have loved colors, starting with the new box of Crayola Crayons that we got at the start of every school year.  The big huge box was never in our school bag, as there wasn’t enough money for it, but I lusted after them.  The packaging is so iconic, and I remember the built-in sharpener when it came out!

Crayola_1st_No64_open

So, of course, my own children received all the crayons, and lots of other ways to express themselves with color.  I am not sure that it has held the allure for them that it dos for me, although Sofia is always well coordinated!

art-factory-color-wheel.jpeg

Fast forward to Architecture School, and I fell in love with Prismacolors.  The intense beautiful colors that you can get with these colored pencils is unlike any others.

prismacolor_inspiration1

My wish list for the past few Christmases has been this amazing set of all the Prismas in a beautiful wooden box.  Maybe this year?…

img-thing

In my work, I get to use color a lot, although not normally the really bright versions.  But, I love my paint color fans.

Close-up view of a color chart used for paint selection

Close-up view of a color chart used for paint selection

And naturally, knitting allows me to use color in a very free and creative way,  I love collecting the color cards from yarn companies, Jamieson’s being one of the best.

IMG_1584IMG_1586 IMG_1585

And, while it is a smaller selection than Jameison’s, the Dale of Norway Baby Ull provides some great colors, and I get to use these the most creatively in the baby sweaters that I knit.

Dale of Norway Color Card

Recently, I came across these couple of quizzes for how you see color.  I tend to differentiate colors very well.

To see if you have the “eye of an eagle”, try this quiz.  I got a perfect score!

And this one where about 15% of the people have a 4th cone, of which I am a select member.

color-swatch

I am fortunate to have both a hobby and profession that are creative and allow me to continually experiment and utilize color in so many different ways.