Butterfly

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

When planning to head out to Philadelphia a couple of weeks ago, I naturally needed some very portable knitting projects.  I took some socks along, but they were on my precious metal Signature needles.  Not wanting to take the chance of TSA trying to confiscate those, I put them in my checked bag, and pulled out this Fiber Optic yarn that I had spun last winter.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This was spun using 2 braids of the color way Thistle.  My yardage was 1,070 yards.  Not as much as I would have liked.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So, then the night before having to get up at 4am for a very early flight, I am on the computer looking up patterns.  I opted for Pulelehua, which means butterfly in Hawaiian.  I am hoping that I have enough yarn, as the yardage on peoples projects is anywhere from about 1,000-1,500.

About 1/2 of the yarn has been knit up to date, this is my progress thus far:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For the second half of the shawl, I am weighing the yarn after each chart section is done.  Not sure yet if panic will set in, but I am already thinking that I need to obtain another braid to use just the dark blue end to finish off.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And, while knitting on this the past week, we have had great fun watching the Monarchs in our native plantings at the side of the house.  This garden was planted about 10 years ago, but this is by far the best year for Monarchs, and a few Black Swallowtails as well.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I counted 7 one night, and that was just from my back porch, I didn’t venture down the side of the house!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There is even the Monarch moth on the plants.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

They are just loving the tall white flowers, my husband thinks that they are the  Tall Bonest, but looking at the book I am thinking perhaps Wild Quinine, we need to get our neighbor over to help identify these. To a lesser extent they are attracted to the Tall Coreopsis.  In addition there are many native pollinators, wasps, honey bees, crickets, etc.  It is fun to walk on the side of the house and hear all of the insects, with the Cicadas as the background music.  I hope that we are making a difference in our own little piece of the world.  I see more and more native gardens in lieu of pesticide lawns.  All these pollinators desperately need our help.