With Reckless Abandon

lloyd puppyOver 15 years ago, this little bundle of Joy came into our lives.  When we went to choose a puppy, he was the runt, but the one with the most personality.  People told me that I should not have picked the runt, but my comment was “Oh, but you have not met him yet!”  He proved all stereotypes wrong, from runt to little dog to poodle.  We named him Lloyd, after Frank Lloyd Wright, my favorite Architect.

He loved life, the beach in Michigan being one of his favorite things.

DSCN3006 DSCN3543

Sometimes he loved to embrace his Frenchness

French Lloyd

Other-times he held strong political views.

Field of dreams001

He loved my knitting also.

DSCN0542

Last night we had to say goodbye, one of the most difficult decisions that I have made, but the right one.  The past couple of years have been a slow decline; loosing his hearing first, then this spring the rest of his sight. I wanted to give him a good summer, and the chance to be with Ethan one more time when he came back from Japan.

Ethan and Lloyd

When Lloyd was younger, I said to Dan one day that nobody had ever loved me like Lloyd does.  His response was: “What, with reckless abandon?”  I said “Yes!  that’s it!!!”

Goodbye dear friend I will miss you so very much.

DSCN2960 DSCN0633 DSCN4470 DSCN4486