A New Shop, and a New Skill

A new knitting shop recently opened in the old space of Knot Just Knits, in downtown Oak Park, Fiberista.  they have been an Indy dyer for years, and have recently opened a shop featuring a lot of different dyers.  It is really a lovely place to shop and gather inspiration.  They also sell Kromski wheels, and spinning supplies, not that I need either.  If only they had Dale of Norway, or Rauma yarns, I would consider it practically perfect.

So, on my first visit, I purchased a gift and some yarn for myself. I envision a beautiful pair of gradating mittens with this.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then I went back to get yarn to make a cowl.  This is a really soft wool/silk blend by Mountain Colors.  My old favorite yarn store in Elmhurst (now closed) used to carry Mountain Colors, and I loved their yarn.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I used a free pattern found on Ravelry, Sea Scales Cowl, and in the process I learned a new to me technique to do a long tail cast-on in 3×3 rib.  Here is the video:

And this is the end result, I think a very pretty cowl.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA