Sheep 1, Sheep 2

Both of my sheep hats are finished.  The first, Sheep 1, was the pattern Baa-ble Hat by Donna Smith. I used the colors specified and the yarn as specified, Jamieson’s Shetland Heather Aran.  It is warm, but I think that I would have liked to brighten it up more.  My friend Jane made a bright version of this for a child with Dale of Norway Baby Ull, will keep that in mind for a baby gift in the future.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I cast on with the size 6 needles (per the pattern), and was unhappy with the result pretty much from the beginning.  The Fair Isle portion was knit with size 7, and that works well.  So, when I was all finished knitting, I cut back to the start of the Fair Isle and knit the ribbing down with size 3 needles.  Much, much better.  And I did a double rib tubular bind off.  I will discuss how to do that in a later post.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here is the inside of the Baa-ble hat.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Sheep 2 hat is the Sheep Heid tam by Kate Davies.  Kate designed hers using many of the natural colors of Shetland wool, Using Jamieson’s Spindrift yarn.  I had some of that yarn in my stash, but not all the correct colors.  So mine is a bit more colorful.  And very warm, I am really liking it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

and this inside of this hat…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA