Piece & Co.

Piece & Co is a really cool organization.  They purchase artisan fabrics and materials from women in developing countries to be used by designers here or sold, and provide a living wage to the women.  This is their mission statement:

To be a platform for talented artisans to share their craft, support their communities, and empower them to live the life they desire.

Isn’t that just about the best thing!  Arts and women.  Please read more about this unique organization and how they are empowering women entrepreneurs here.

Last week I received an email asking me to let fellow crafters know that they were having a sample sale.  I could not attend on Saturday, then they extended it for the week.  Yesterday I went down with my friend Cathy, and we had a blast, spent over an hour choosing fabrics, scarves, bags and shawls.  It was a really great deal, and I am excited about what I got.

First, there were tons of Batik fabrics, I got enough to make a quilt with.  My inspiration for this came from a quilt that my friend Mimi made a few years ago with African fabrics.  This should be fun.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

These patterns had enough yardage that they can be used as backing on quilts.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is beautiful printing on an oil cloth.  The plan is to use it for an outdoor tablecloth, lots of yardage, some of it has been cut away, but I have more than enough to work with.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A couple of table runners…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And lastly, this cool woven bag.  Previously sold at Ann Taylor for much much more than I paid for it.  It will either be a knitting bag, or more likely a pool bag.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA