Sock Vortex

The other day it was intimated that all I knit were socks.  Well, reading tis post, one might think that is the truth.  The reality is that they are very portable, which works great for taking in the car, to knitting night or the poolside in the summer.  And yeah, I do knit a lot of socks.

These are called Sorority Sisters.  My Junior Year of college at the University of Michigan, I lived in a women’s co-op owned by the Women’s Alumni Association, Henderson House. It was there that I made a few great lifelong friends.  The house was situated on Hill Street smack dab in the midst of Sorority and Fraternity row.  We were the polar opposites of those houses.  I remember that the women who came out of the sororities all dressed exactly the same, and the favorite colors were pink and lime green (is that still true?).  We swore that there was only one closet in each of the houses, with a few different sizes, and everyone reached into the same wardrobe.  I really thought that the pink/green color combination was atrocious, and still do.  Somehow I ended up with this variegated yarn in my stash, it must have been gifted, as I do not see how I would have purchased it.  And, immediately, those days on Hill Street came to mind, I knew that I had to elaborate on that pink and green.  I changed out the heels and toes to give it a bit of flair.

And I am working on the afterthought heels for this pair of striped socks.  The yarn is from Vesper Sock company, and it is a pleasure to knit with.  The stripes work out nice and even, so I did not want to work my traditional slip stitch heel.  Hence, the Thought-out Afterthought Heel, and I needed to refer back to my blog post where I originally discussed how to make this, as it is only the second time that I have done an afterthought heel.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Now, I am thinking that I will employ this technique more often, as it really makes the sock fit nicely.  My husband particularly likes the socks that I made in the above referenced post, as he has narrow feet and a narrow heel, so he says that they fit really nicely.  For this sock I am using a bright orange accent for the heel, there is a kelly green cuff, both that I purchased as mini skeins from Vesper sock, I am hoping that there is enough for the toes in orange also.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lastly, I am knitting socks with the Mrs Crosby’s yarn that I won at YarnCon.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It is a single ply, which gives me some pause as to durability in socks.  I must admit that I am not loving how this is knitting up, both in the handling of the yarn, and in the way the colors play together.  I will say that it is a very very soft sock, knit in a 1×1 twisted rib.  The toes and heels will definitely have to be knit with a much sturdier yarn, and I think that they will be for my husband.  Some fun contrasting colors are in order.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA