German Short rows

Louise from my SnB knitting group introduced us to the German Short Row technique.  She made the shawl Good Vibrations, and I decided to do the same, as it would give me ample practice in this new technique.  I am in love with it!  I will never do short rows any other way now.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My shawl was made with some stash yarn, the variegated color was Noro Silk Garden Sock Yarn (the ball band says it was from Chix with Stix in Forest Park, and that it was $20.  I can’t imagine that I paid full price for that, perhaps was purchased when they were going out of business).  I love the colors, but would have never used this as a sock yarn, I do not think that it would have worn well as it is a single ply and goes from thin to thicker, but works great for this shawl with the long color repeats.  The white accent, where all the short rows were done, is Regia Silk sock yarn, a really soft yet durable workhorse of a yarn.  The combination of the two is luscious.  So wonderful and soft to put around your neck.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here is a detail of the front of the short rows:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

And the back

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I would suggest using this technique for everyone, it is so much quicker than a wrap and turn, and as you can see, creates a much better fabric as a result.  This is one of the many reasons that I love my knitting group.

Here is a great tutorial on the German Short row Technique.

I have to say, that I did NOT put my yarn to the front when I was pulling the stitch back on the knit side.  I do think that my technique looks better on both sides.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

And, in my quest to understand this technique (which is basically shortening up the turned stitch), I also found this video on Japanese short rows.  However, I do think that the Germans won out this time.  I am now anxious to try this with my afterthought heel which has some short rows in it.

For those of you. like me, who need to see it demonstrated in different ways, here is another good German Short Row video, and it demonstrates how to  use it in the toe of a sock.