Only the Really Special Ones

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ann Marie from my knitting group made this sweater for her beautiful little daughter.  It is such a cute simple pattern, and I thought that it would be a perfect one for Ria.  I made the size 4-6 years, and was getting gauge, so I am hoping that it fits.  It was sent off to California.  If not, I can easily make another, and this is Alpaca, so it will have lots of give to it.  I did make it a bit longer, it was designed to be a crop sweater, and I knit 6 rows for the sleeves to make those a tad longer also.

The increases at the bottom give the frills that really make the sweater.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The deep purple of the yarn (Elsebeth Lavold Classic AL, color Eggplant, a discontinued yarn) is gorgeous, but I wanted the buttons to add some interest.  I have a box of bright plain buttons in various sizes, and this was the perfect compliment.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Right before starting on this sweater, I saw an interesting blog post on a “new to me” way to knit the KFB (knit front and back) increases.  The technique eliminates the bar that is normally a part of this technique.  Instructions for this sweater called for: *kfb, slip marker, kfb* to make the raglan sleeves.  So, I tried the technique and in my opinion it was good, but I think that I really prefer a lifted increase each side of a raglan sleeve stitch.   Mine looks a bit wonky, as I never properly blocked it out.  I am guessing that with a couple of washings this will even out.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here are some links to this technique, you basically are knitting in the front of the stitch, then going as if to knit in the back and slipping it instead.  This blog post has a good photo showing the differences.  And here is a description from Meg Swanson on her blog.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I can’t wait to see my niece wearing this.  She thinks that I make all of the sweaters that she wears, and my sister tells her “Only the really special ones”.