Yarn Crawl

Apparently Chicago Yarn Crawl  has been going on for 4 or 5 years now.  It occurs the week prior to Stitches Midwest, and allows local yarn stores to showcase their wares.  My friends Barb and Pam have gone for several years, and this year Louise and I tagged along.  It was so much fun.  We went to 6 stores, 2 of which I had never been to before.

At the first store, we were asked if we wanted to purchase a Yarn Crawl bag, we said no.  Everyone gets a passport that is stamped at each store, and you are entered into raffles at each store, in addition a larger raffle when you reach the milestones of 5, 10 and 15 stores. Then some ladies came in who had started this over the weekend, and they were sporting the bags, with a pin from each store to show where they had been.  Well, we were hooked.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So, off we went with our bags and shopping.  I restrained myself at most of the stores.  Each store was required ot have a free pattern.  When we got to Sister Arts, their pattern was one of the best, 3 of us got the yarn to make this capelet:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

these are the colors that i choose, on order is a natural cream color, so the base will be cream and gold, with turquoise accents.  It will be really fun to see how everyone’s color combinations turn out.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I also found yarn for a very special shawl (more about that in the next post), Malabrigo Mora, 100% silk.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Every store was offering 10% off on all yarns, and some had extra specials just for the crawl.  Sister Arts gave gifts for a $30 or more purchase!  Missing from this photo is the measurement tool, as mine was broken, and I am hoping that my friend was able to exchange it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Lastly at Nina’s, I found a sale yarn and book that I really liked (at 50% off).  The yarn will become a shawl, and I cannot wait to make the sheep toy.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There are so many more stores available to knitters than when I first moved to Chicago, glad to have the fiber community growing. Now I am trying to decide if I have enough time to hit a couple of more stores in the next 2 days…