Silk Shawl

With the lovely Malabrigo silk yarn that I purchased at Sister Arts during the Yarn Crawl, I have started a new shawl.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Jane from my knitting group generously gave me this pattern, Fiori di Sole, that she had bought but was not going to use.  I think that it is a perfect fit of yarn to pattern.  I am a bit worried that I will not have enough yarn though.  I will need to decide if I want to shorten it when that time comes.

full_small2

I am well underway with the shawl.  My biggest problem was the yarn, I wound the first skein with my ball winder.  About 2/3 of the way through knitting with it, the yarn collapsed into a big tangled mess.  It took me about 2 hours to straighten it out.   So, now I am hand winding each of the skeins into a ball, which gives me the opportunity to use the beautiful yarn blow that my sister Diane gave to me!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After the large petals, the main body is easily memorized.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The yarn is gloriously soft, and will have a wonderful drape to it.