Coming up for Air

This has been a rough 6 weeks.  2 weddings at our house, house guests during that time, school started with huge new responsibilities for me, and 2 other weddings to attend.   I have been exhausted.  Knitting, and blogging have taken a real back seat.

The easiest thing to knit during these times is socks, as the pattern is ingrained in my head, and they are easy to pick up at any time, and very portable (for those out-of-town weddings).  These socks are knit with some rainbow yarn that I purchased a couple of years ago at Lorna’s Laces mill ends sale.  I really love the colors.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As is often the case with variegated yarns, I like the skein better than the knitted project.  The larger blocks of color appeal to me, and they tend not to get as muddied out.  That said, this skein knit up better than most, in my opinion.  There was some pooling of 2 colors on the rounds that tended to swirl around the leg of the sock.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

When I got to the heel and the toe, that swirling ceased.  It is this part of the sock that I like the best.  The colors really jump out, and it feels much more like the skein looked.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And, in all it’s entirety…  Waiting to decide where the new home will be.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA