My Querencia

Querencia describes a place where one feels safe, a place from which one’s strength of character is drawn, a place where one feels at home.

I first learned of this term in 2007 when my son, a senior in High School, had to write a paper for English (he got 50/50 on it too!).  Here is an expert from the beginning of his essay:

Across the lake which separates me from my second home, buried in the trees which hide my secret love, atop the hills that allow me to admire my world, lies my world of bliss. It is the house of my dreams, my Querencia.

Ethan wrote this poem about the beautiful lake house on Lake Michigan that he was fortunate enough to share every summer with his Aunt and Cousin.  I have kept this essay for almost a decade, and read it frequently.  My sister and nephew gave my son the best gift ever, that of time, rest and peace when he needed it most.  A lifetime bond was forged during those long lazy summer days with the beach at bay.  Thank you Diane, Steve and Traver.

My Querencia is my knitting, and my knitting room.  I will never be as eloquent as my son, but I will try.

Down the stairs which separate me from all lives worries and tribulations, hidden in a corner, filled with inspiration and color, lies my world of creativity and peace. It is my retreat, my special place to dream and recover.

This knitting room has been a work in progress for many years now, and I truly thought that I would “unveil” it here long before today.  But even today, it is not perfect—missing those shelves for the cones of beautifully colored yarn, the inspiration board is not properly organized, and my project area is not tidy enough.  The woes of an Architect, it is never perfect enough when working for yourself.  I did, however, clean it up this past week, desperately needing a retreat from the awful relentless daily news.  And I gave myself a place to work, think, dream, design, and retreat.

Here are some snippets, and I promise more:

img_2215

Buttons in antique glass jars:

img_2217

File drawers, with neatly organized pattern books:

img_2220

Colorful yarn for inspiration:

Lloyd’s favorite toy, clean and white, and always looking at me.  Reminding me of the best friend I ever had.

img_2218

Those couple of boxes still needing a proper home:

img_2222

Which is why there is always a little red comfort nearby:

img_2216

The beauty of My Querencia is that it can travel with me, bringing peace, calmness and creativity wherever I go.  What is your Querencia?