Knitting with Jensen

Actually, I was knitting with Jayson, but in one of the beautiful parks designed by Jens Jensen, famous Chicago Landscape Architect who gave us so many beautiful Parks, and the Garfield Park Conservatory.  I have always loved his work, and recently started reading more about him.  My Architecture History Professor, Leonard Eaton, wrote a great book about him, that I was able to purchase and read.

51xQktuOmbL._SX386_BO1,204,203,200_

Hindsight is always best, and I wish that I had engaged with Professor Eaton, he loved Jensen and Frank Lloyd Wright.  I have purchased all of his books, and have enjoyed reading through them, he was a really great writer.

We took our knitting and sat by this gorgeous waterfall in Columbus Park.

Blog Photos687

Blog Photos686

After a lovely time knitting with the sounds of water splashing down the waterfall, we took a walk around the butterfly garden, and more photos.

We spotted two different Great Blue Herons, and even saw them fly a couple of times.  Flying, they look like a prehistoric creature.  Beautiful birds.

Blog Photos690

And, what was I knitting on?  My current project is a Dale of Norway sweater, in lovely soft purple

with beautiful accent fair isle at the bottom and the cuffs.  Of course, I am using my beloved Baby Ull by Dale of Norway.  My stash should keep me in stitches for quite awhile.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I am determined to knit this up using CocoKnits English tailoring method.  I am almost finished with the sleeves, and will need to seriously tackle this.  More when I figure it out.