The Verdict is in, Sort of…

Well, my Oxo non chlorine whitener came in the mail and I soaked the wine spilled sweater.  The wine stains did come out, but it lightened some of the areas, so the color is just a little bit off.  I am not exactly pleased with the results, and think that I will over-dye it someday.  For the moment it is going in the cedar chest, and I will deal with it in the future.

So, we went from this:

unnamed-2
To this:

IMG_2512IMG_2511

I do think that it is salvageable, just not something that I want to deal with at the present.  the trim color around the wrist and neckline was to be a different color anyways, so going a bit darker should not pose any problems.  It has been years since I have dyed any fabric, and I am not a fiber dyer.  Do people still use Ritz dyes that we used to purchase at the grocery store?  Hopefully I can convince one of my friends who dyes fiber to help me with this next spring or summer.  Jane???….

In the meantime, I made one of my favorite baby bootie patterns, Christine’s Stay on Baby Booties.  These are part of a knitted baby package for a charitable auction. Knit with my favorite Baby Ull by Dale of Norway, which is not to be sold in the US anymore.

😦

IMG_2510IMG_2508